May 6, 2006

Estoril Open

Portugal's largest tennis tournament, the Estoril Open comes to a climax tomorrow.

The clay court tournament brings together some of the biggest names in men's and women's tennis and is an important warm-up for the Grand Slam tournament in France.

The men's tournament began in 1990 and past winners include some of the greats of clay court tennis such as Carlos Moya (2000), Alex Corretja (1997), Thomas Muste r(1995, 1996), Carlos Costa (1992, 1994), Sergi Bruguera (1991) and Emilio Sanchez in the inaugural tournament in 1990.

The women's tournament started in 1998 and previous champions include Lucie Safarova (2005), Emilie Loit (2004) and Magui Serna (2003, 2002).

The championships are held at the 5,500 capacity
Estadio Nacional
1495 Cruz Quebrada
Phone: +351 800 21 10 10
Fax: +351 21 303 49 30

Estoril Guide